Home Loans now from 8.35%* p.a. * Terms and conditions apply
Limited period offer

Please fill in your details for an instant call back from our executive.

All fields are mandatory *

  • I authorise DHFL and its representative to call me or SMS me with reference to this enquiry.
  •    Reset
Home > Profile of Directors

Profile of Directors

DHFL is driven by qualified and motivated professionals, committed to providing efficient and cost-effective financial services to our customers. They endeavor to make DHFL the finest organization to work for and to do business with, every time.

Board of Directors

Mr. Kapil Wadhawan Chairman & Managing Director
Mr. Dheeraj Wadhawan Non-Executive Director
Mr. G. P. Kohli Independent Director
Mr. V. K. Chopra Independent Director
Mr. Mannil Venugopalan Independent Director
Ms. Vijaya Sampath Independent Director
Mr. Harshil Mehta Joint Managing Director & CEO


Profile of Directors

Mr. Kapil Wadhawan, Chairman & Managing Director

Mr. Kapil Wadhawan joined DHFL in September 1996 as a Director. He became the Chairman and Managing Director of the Company in July 2009, and has since then led DHFL into becoming a world class financial services Company. Under his leadership, the Company commenced its transformational journey, reaching out to customers across the length and breadth of the country. He was instrumental behind DHFL setting up representative offices globally – at Dubai and London. He spearheaded the acquisition of the housing finance arm of ING Vysya Bank Ltd. in 2003 and the acquisition of First Blue Home Finance Ltd. (erstwhile Deutsche Postbank Home Finance Ltd.) in 2011. He also established India’s low income segment specific Company, Aadhar Housing Finance Ltd., in association with IFC, a member of the World Bank group. Mr. Kapil Wadhawan also led the foray of DHFL into the education loans sector through Avanse Financial Services Limited in 2013 and in life insurance through DHFL Pramerica Life Insurance Company Ltd. in 2014. With his focus on business excellence and industry development, Mr. Kapil Wadhawan has played a significant role in shaping policy guidelines on matters relating to the mortgage finance industry. His dynamic initiatives at DHFL have been pioneering for the industry. Mr. Kapil Wadhawan is an MBA in Finance from Edith Cowan University, Australia.

Mr. Dheeraj Wadhawan, Non-Executive Director

Mr. Dheeraj Wadhawan is also the Promoter and Shareholder of the Company. He is the son of Late Shri Rajesh Kumar Wadhawan and brother of Mr. Kapil Wadhawan, Chairman & Managing Director. He has graduated in construction management from the University of London. He has over 13 years of experience in the real estate and construction industry. He joined on the Board as a Non-Executive Director on May 12, 2008.

Mr. G. P. Kohli, Independent Director

Mr. G. P. Kohli is the former Managing Director of Life Insurance Corporation of India (LIC) and has vast experience in insurance, housing, human resource development, information technology and marketing, having worked in different positions in LIC. He holds a Masters Degree in English Literature MA. (Hons) and has acquired a diploma in Labour Laws, Labour Welfare and Personnel Management – LLD. Mr. G. P. Kohli is on the Board of the Company as an Independent Director since May 23, 2001.

Click here for the terms and conditions of appointment of Mr. G. P. Kohli as an Independent Director

Mr. V. K. Chopra, Independent Director

Mr. V. K. Chopra is a Fellow Member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of India (FCA) by profession. Mr. V. K. Chopra had a long and illustrious career in banking, having served in the sector for over 37 years in different capacities. He was the Chairman and Managing Director of Corporation Bank and SIDBI and an Executive Director of Oriental Bank of Commerce for a long tenure. His last assignment was with Securities Exchange Board of India (SEBI) as a whole-time member for two years until March, 2008. He is a Non-Executive and Independent Director of several listed companies. He joined the Board of the Company as an Independent Director on May 12, 2008.

Click here for the terms and conditions of appointment of Mr. V. K. Chopra as an Independent Director

Mr. Mannil Venugopalan, Independent Director

Mr. Mannil Venugopalan holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree from Kerala University and has worked as a commercial banker for nearly four and a half decades. He started his career as a probationary officer with Bank of India in 1966. In 2000, he joined Union Bank as an Executive Director. In 2003, he returned to Bank of India as the Chairman and Managing Director. In May 2005, he joined Federal Bank as the Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer. Mr. Mannil Venugopalan has also been runner-up for the E & Y Entrepreneur of the Year 2009 award. He joined the Board of the Company as an Independent Director on February 25, 2013.

Click here for the terms and conditions of appointment of Mr. Mannil Venugopalan as an Independent Director

Ms. Vijaya Sampath, Independent Director

Ms. Vijaya Sampath is a reputed senior legal professional with over thirty years of corporate and legal experience. She has worked both as a Partner in a law firm and as an in-house Legal Counsel and Company Secretary for large Indian corporations like the Bharti Group and Indian Aluminum Company Ltd. She has also served on the Boards of several Companies in the Bharti Group (including Bharti Infratel Ltd, Bharti AXA General Insurance Co Ltd). Ms Sampath currently heads the corporate practice for the law firm Lakshmikumaran Sridharan. She is also the Ombudsperson for the Bharti Group. In her role as the Group General Counsel and Company Secretary at Bharti Enterprises, she played a key role in managing legal matters related to strategic initiatives like international M&As, contracts, litigation, financing and regulatory matters. She has dealt with several large and complex transactions, including the Zain deal a major complex transaction in the Indian telecom sector. She also managed the legal and compliance elements of all the joint ventures that the Bharti Group got into, including the Bharti-Wal-Mart, Vodafone and AXA deals. Ms Sampath holds degrees in Literature and Law. She is also a fellow member of the Institute of Company Secretaries of India. She has attended the Advanced Management Program at Harvard Business School and the Strategic Alliances Program at Wharton, USA.

Click here for the terms and conditions of appointment of Ms. Vijaya Sampath as an Independent Director

Mr. Harshil Mehta, Joint Managing Director & CEO

Mr. Harshil Mehta holds a Master’s degree in science (M.Sc) from Mumbai University, and is a MBA in Finance from Graduate School of Business, Mississippi State University, USA. Mr. Harshil Mehta had principally served in prominent entities like ICICI Bank, Transamerica Commercial Finance, Chicago, a Fortune 500 Company and leader in inventory financing and prior to that, Whirlpool India. In his second stint with Transamerica’s Indian business, he had set up its Indian subsidiary and launched the inventory finance program that was subsequently acquired by ICICI Bank, where he worked in several capacities including Head of Home Loans, Head of Service Quality, Business Head – Real Estate (Property Services & Consulting) before being chosen to head ICICI Home Finance as the Managing Director & CEO. Mr. Harshil Mehta had also been the CEO of Aadhar Housing Finance Limited, a joint initiative of the Company with International Finance Corporation (IFC) of the World Bank Group, aimed at enabling access to home finance, amongst low income group customers in the developing states of India.